FREN 3308: Introduction Francophone World Research Guide

All Guides    Databases A-Z    Middlebury Libraries    Bookmark and Share
Summon

Advanced Search

Summon Tutorial
All Items by Source
Encyclopedias
Journals/Magazines
Newspapers

Journals/Magazines

EconLit with Full Text Middlebury Students, Faculty and Staff only Link to Article Some full text available
Index for over 600 journals (400+ full-text), books, documents, and working papers in the field of economics. 1969 - present. To search full-text, change the drop-down box to "All-Text". Econlit is not searched in Summon. Go shortcut = go/econlit. 
Note: Note: Summon searches Econlit citations, but it does not search the full-text. To search within full-text journals, select All Text from Econlit's search box Select a Field menu.

Erudit Unrestricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Erudit covers a wide range of disciplines in the human, social and natural sciences. The search tool allows to look into a corpus comprised of recently published articles and retroactively digitalized articles from past issues. Full-text database in French from Quebec. Covers 2001-

Persee Unrestricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
PERSEE portal aims at digitalising and publishing online the retrospective collections of a wide corpus of French journals in social and human sciences

Revues.org Unrestricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Begun in 1999, Revues.org is a portal for full text French journals covering the humanities and social sciences.

Scopus Middlebury Students, Faculty and Staff only Link to Article
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and quality web sources with tools to track, analyze and visualize research. It is similar to Web of Science (Science Citation Index and Social Science Citation Index) but also includes arts and humanites resources.

  • Contains 41 million records, 70% with abstracts, nearly 18,000 titles from 5,000 publishers worldwide.  70% of content is pulled from international sources.  Includes MEDLINE.
  • Records since 1996 include seachable cited references.
  • Shortcut: go/scopus (on campus) or http://go.middlebury.edu/scopus (off-campus)

Newspapers

L'Express (fr) Unrestricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Online coverage from 1996-present. Also available in print from 1987- in the bound periodicals collection on the lower level of the Davis Family Library AP20.E92, and from 1953-1988 on microfilm - film 481.

Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe Middlebury Students, Faculty and Staff only Some full text available
Academic Universe provides access to the full text of national and international newspapers, magazines, wire services, and more. It also includes business, financial, and legal information, including laws, regulations, cases, and EU law. The non-English language news link includes news in French, German, Italian, and Spanish. Go shortcut = go/lexis (on campus), http://go.middlebury.edu/lexis (off campus).

Newspaper Direct Middlebury Students, Faculty and Staff only Some full text available Resource contains images
45-day archive of full-color, full-page, scanned images of over 700 newspapers from 76 countries in 38 languages.

Nouvel Observateur Unrestricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Covers 2002-present. For coverage beginning in 1969, see the bound periodicals on the lower level of the Davis Family Library, AP20.N74

Encyclopedias

Britannica’s Global Reference Center Middlebury Students, Faculty and Staff only Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains video
A collection of Encyclopaedia Britannica’s foreign language content, offering information in Spanish, Japanese, Korean, simplified Chinese, and French. Photos, detailed maps,and other images accompany the text.



Subject Specialist
Picture: Joy Pile

Joy Pile
Reference and Instruction Libarian for Foreign Languages & Music
Tel: (802) 443- 5140



Bibiothèque et d'information de recherche
  • Main Library Page
  • Borrowing information
  • Research help
  • Bibliographic citation & style guides
  • Refworks

Aussi voyez
French Subject Guide

Last updated: March 13, 2012
This page maintained by: Electronic Services Librarian
Powered by SubjectsPlus